AcademicsNews Service RSS

Johnson Opens GU Visiting Writers Series Sept. 22

Posted on September 22, 2009 in: Academics, Alumni, Events, Faculty & Staff, Students


Dateline: 9/17/2009
Dale Goodwin, Director
Peter Tormey, Associate Director

National Book Award Winner Denis Johnson will read from his works and lecture at 7:30 p.m., Tuesday, Sept. 22 in the Globe Room at Gonzaga University’s Cataldo Hall. The reading by Johnson, a novelist, opens the 2009-2010 Gonzaga University Visiting Writers Series. The lecture is free and open to the public.

The Gonzaga University Visiting Writers Series, initiated and spearheaded by Tod Marshall, an associate professor of English at Gonzaga, offers lecture/readings at Gonzaga throughout the academic year by prominent writers who express diverse perspectives. The series received a $5,000 grant from Humanities Washington to fund appearances by writers of regional and national importance.

Following is the full schedule of writers scheduled to read and lecture at Gonzaga University this academic year as part of this distinguished series. All lectures in the series are free and open to the public and all will begin at 7:30 p.m., in the Cataldo Hall Globe Room at Gonzaga.

  • Denis Johnson, National Book Award winning novelist, Sept. 22;
  • Katrina Roberts, a fine poet from Whitman College in Walla Walla, Wash., Oct. 12;
  • Natasha Trethewey, a Pulitzer Prize-winning poet, Nov 9;
  • Sharon Olds, an outstanding poet, Feb 2, 2010;
  • Richard Kenney, a poet and MacArthur Fellow who teaches at the University of Washington, March 1, 2010;
  • Tod Marshall, the organizer of this series, a poet and English professor at Gonzaga University, April 13, 2010.

For more information, contact Gonzaga English Associate Professor Tod Marshall at (509) 313-6681 or via e-mail.

Comments are closed.