@GonzagaNews Service RSS

Zags’ Hoops Star Matt Bouldin Likes to ‘Tweet’

Posted on January 7, 2010 in: @Gonzaga, Academics, Men's Basketball
YouTube Preview Image

Gonzaga University basketball star Matt Bouldin, who has been nominated for several national hoops awards, likes to “Tweet” now and again on the social networking site Twitter. Check out the video of Bouldin discussing Tweets.

On Monday, the 6-foot-5-inch senior guard from Highlands Ranch, Colo., was named one of the top 31 candidates for the John R. Wooden Award, the nation’s most coveted college basketball honor.

Look for a full story on why Bouldin believes this year’s edition of the Bulldogs may have the best chemistry yet. That story will be posted Jan. 13 to the Web site [http://bit.ly/6j1UDc] for Gonzaga University’s monthly e-newsletter, @GONZAGA.

Bouldin is averaging a team-leading 15.1 points-per-game, 4.9 rebounds-per-game, a team-leading 4.1 assists per game, two steals per game and has a 1.4 assist-to-turnover ratio. The Bulldogs are off to an 11-3 start entering West Coast Conference play Saturday at the University of Portland.

Bouldin is the ninth Zag to be nominated for the award. The Bulldogs have had two John R. Wooden Award Top-Five recipients: Adam Morrison in 2006 and Dan Dickau in 2002. Blake Stepp was a Top 10 All-Wooden in 2004 and Casey Calvary received the same recognition in 2001. Matt Santangelo (2000), Cory Violette (2003-04), Ronny Turiaf (2004-05) and Jeremy Pargo (2008-09) are the other Bulldogs to receive nominations.

Bouldin also was recently named one of 20 finalists for the 2010 Bob Cousy Award, sponsored by Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. The award is given annually to college basketball’s top point guard and is named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic great Bob Cousy.

The 20 finalists will be narrowed down to 10 players by Feb. 1 and then to five players by March 1. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner will be announced April 5 in Indianapolis as part of the NCAA Final Four weekend.

Comments are closed.