AcademicsNews Service RSS

President Obama Appoints Alumnus James J. McCarthy to Arctic Research Commission

Posted on December 27, 2012 in: Academics, Alumni, Science, Spotlight

WASHINGTON, D.C. – President Barack Obama has announced the appointment of Gonzaga University alumnus James J. McCarthy to the Arctic Research Commission. McCarthy was among two appointments to the Artic Research Commission and fills one of four positions on the committee for members of academic or research institutions.

“The extraordinary dedication these individuals bring to their new roles will greatly serve the American people,” President Obama said in the announcement last month. “I am grateful they have agreed to serve in this Administration and I look forward to working with them in the months and years to come.”

McCarthy is the Alexander Agassiz Professor of Biological Oceanography at Harvard University. He has been a part of the faculty for almost 40 years and served as the director of Harvard’s Museum of Comparative Zoology from 1982 to 2002. Among his many awards, McCarthy was a co-chair for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change when the organization won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007. He is also a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a Foreign Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in biology from Gonzaga and a Ph.D. in biological oceanography from Scripps Institution of Oceanography.

McCarthy delivered the 23rd Annual Timothy J. O’Leary, S.J., Lecture  at Gonzaga on Oct. 28, 2008. The lecture was titled, “How and Why Earth’s Climate is Changing.”

The Arctic Research Commission was established in 1984 to promote Artic research, establish national policy with respect to Artic research, and facilitate research between federal, state, and local governments. The Commission is made up of four members from academics or research institutions; two members from private industry undertaking commercial activities in the Arctic; and one Artic indigenous resident.

For more information about the Arctic Research Commission, visit its website.

Comments are closed.