AcademicsNews Service RSS

Gonzaga’s Nationally Recognized Debate Program off to Fast Start with Two Freshmen Teams

Posted on September 20, 2013 in: Academics, Events, Faculty & Staff, Spotlight, Students

(All rows from left) Top Row : Geoff Lundeen (coach), James Elias, Joe Skoog, Ryan Hand, Dillon Johnson, Jordon Newton, Steve Pointer (coach). Middle: Hailey Clawson, Alexis Kostun, Donovan DiDio, Kinsee Gaither, Matt Filpi, Mark Ornelas, Glen Frappier (coach). Bottom: Paloma Cruz, Mitsu Gunsolus, Riley Meister, Paige Spraker, Jenna Bauer.

SPOKANE, Wash. – Gonzaga University debaters, consistently among the nation’s finest, have returned from their first tournament of the new school year at the University of Missouri, Kansas City where two teams of freshmen posted winning records.

The team of Joe Skoog (Phoenix) and Matt Filp (La Verne, Calif.) posted a record of 5-3 in the preliminary debates and advanced to the elimination rounds, while the team of Paige Spraker (Boise, Idaho) and Kinsee Gaither (South Jordan, Utah) also posted a 5-3 record, but narrowly missed the elimination debates.

Coach Glen Frappier says the 2013-14 edition of Gonzaga debate is fairly young, but anchored by one of the best recruiting classes in two decades. The team is comprised of one senior, three juniors, two sophomores, and nine freshmen.

The Zag debaters look forward to competing in – and hosting – the “Jesuit Debates” at Gonzaga Sept. 28-30. This fall also includes highly competitive tournaments at University of Kentucky, Harvard University, Lewis and Clark College, Wake Forest University, Weber State University, and the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. 

A Gonzaga team has qualified for the National Debate Tournament for the past 17 consecutive years. In 2012, Gonzaga’s top debate team of seniors Leah Moczulski and Paul Kanellopoulos advanced to the NDT Final Four before losing 3-2 to Northwestern University.

For more information, please contact Glen Frappier, director of forensics and senior lecturer for the communication arts department, at (509) 313-6663 or via e-mail.


Comments are closed.